As kids begin going back to school, and school will once again be in session, there are different dangers that arise and therefore different laws that must be adhered to. One such area of law designed to minimize risk concerns school zones. Here is what to know about driving through a school zone in Arkansas.
Speeding in a School Zone
While you may be in a bit of a rush, you must slow down when in a school zone. In Arkansas, school zones begin 300 feet before school buildings and end 300 feet past them. There are school zone signs – some with flashing lights – that will be clearly posted to mark where each zone begins and ends. Regardless of whether or not the signs have flashing lights or whether or not they are actively flashing, certain laws still apply.
Under AR Code § 27-51-212, all drivers must drive no more than twenty-five miles per hour when passing a school building or zone within school hours (approximately 7:30 a.m. through 3:30 p.m. in most districts) when children are present and outside. On weekends and weekdays during which no children are outside of the building, the speed limit does not apply.
Phone Usage in a School Zone
Under AR Code § 27-51-1609, also known as the Fewer Distractions Means Safer Driving Act, “A driver of a motor vehicle shall not use a handheld wireless telephone while operating a motor vehicle when passing a school building or school zone during school hours when children are present and outside the building.” This includes using a cell phone for things such as texting and using social media.
As for voice calls, there are differing laws dependent upon the driver’s age. However, when in a school zone, it is illegal for any driver to use a handheld device. If you must take a phone call on your daily commute, hands-free devices are allowed for drivers over the age of 18. Hands-free devices include wireless headphones or your car’s Bluetooth speaker system, which allow you to make a voice call while keeping both hands on the wheel.
If you or a loved one has been injured due to the negligence or recklessness of another individual, our Arkansas bus accident lawyers at Caddell Reynolds can help you to receive the compensation that you deserve. To learn more or to schedule a free consultation, call us at 800-671-4100 today!